This home was built for F.S. Thompson, a member of the Minneapolis Real Estate Board, in 1902.
Like the St. Jane House at 1403 Emerson, this building is owned by the Visitation Monastery of Minneapolis. This urban monastery is a unique expression of monasticism and is part of the worldwide Order of the Visitation Sisters of Holy Mary, founded by St. Francis de Sales and St. Jane de Chantal in Annecy, France in 1610. Their mission includes living among the marginalized of society, and those with few economic resources.
This two-and-a-half-story frame vernacular residence has Georgian and Neoclassical influences. The low-pitched, hipped roof has hipped dormers, and widely-overhanging eaves. The main portion of the house still retains modillions (brackets) under the eaves of the second floor.
Note the elaborate detail in and around the central window on the second floor. The window is surrounded by engaged Ionic columns carrying a sizable entablature,which supports the articulated, curved arch. The dormer above and and the house corners are also embellished with Ionic pilasters.
Alterations include synthetic siding and replacement windows.
As you walk east on 16th Street, note the yellow carriage house in the alley on the north side of the street. This beautiful example of compatible architecture was added by the current owners of 1607 Fremont, which is the next stop on the tour.